top of page

BABY ESSENTIALS : 0 - 3 MONTHS

Updated: Jan 11, 2020

won’t say that I’ve got it all figured out, and remember that all babies are so different in what they like, but I wanted to share some things that have worked really well for me and Finn and that we’ve gotten tons of use out of.

.



Lounging and Docking

With a new baby, you’re constantly needing somewhere to place them for lounging and docking. I have gotten a ton of use out of both my Boppy Lounger and the DockATot. They seem a little redundant but I honestly use both of them ALL the time. If you have a two-story house, it can be great to keep one upstairs and one downstairs.

If you have the space and budget, variety is nice with lounging options. I keep this bouncer seat in the kitchen and can usually get 10-20 minutes out of it while I’m trying to prep food. Finn likes it because it vibrates and has a mobile with things he can look at. I keep the Rock N’ Play  in my den/office and Finn takes almost all of his daytime naps in it. The Rock N’ Play is so nice to have that we also keep one in Florida.

And if you’re spending a lot of time breastfeeding, I can’t recommend the My Brest Friend pillow enough to make breastfeeding more comfortable for mom and positioning easier with baby. It’s amazing.

Transportation

Biggest thanks to Chicco for sending me their Fit2 Convertible Car Seat and Mini Bravo Plus Stroller System. I was completely LOST when it came to car seats and strollers and these two items have made my life simple. The Fit2 car seat is a 2-year rear facing car seat. The Mini Bravo stroller is an umbrella stroller that is lightweight and easy to transport. It has built-in functionality for the car seat while they are small and then they transition to sitting in the stroller once they are a little bigger.

I think this totally counts as transportation…I am OBSESSED with my Ergo 360 Carrier with the Infant Insert. It’s wonderful for walks, shopping, getting things done around the house and much, much more. Baby wearing is the best ever!

Soothing

Finn loves these soothie pacifiers, especially the Wubanub variety that has a stuffed animal attached. When he was really small the animals did’t really do anything other than make the paci easier for me to find when it popped out of his mouth but once he hit 8 weeks he started to enjoy holding onto the stuffed animal. These days, the animal goes into his mouth about as often as the pacifier does!

You MUST either buy a white noise machine or download a white noise app on your phone. Seriously. I blast white noise at night and Finn instantly knows it’s time to settle down. It even works in the car when he is crying in his carseat. I’ll turn on the app and play it over the bluetooth. Sometimes I even turn the app on and put my phone in his carseat if I’m at an appointment or something and want him to stay asleep.

You MUST either buy a white noise machine or download a white noise app on your phone. Seriously. I blast white noise at night and Finn instantly knows it’s time to settle down. It even works in the car when he is crying in his carseat. I’ll turn on the app and play it over the bluetooth. Sometimes I even turn the app on and put my phone in his carseat if I’m at an appointment or something and want him to stay asleep.

Finn didn’t love to be swaddled after the first few weeks but I did use the Halo Swaddle Sleep Sack for about 8 weeks ever single night. I would swaddle him in it with arms out.

I bought an exercise ball to bounce on when I was pregnant. It was pretty useless for speeding along labor BUT it’s been an excellent baby soother. Finn loves to bounce


Bath + Grooming 

You don’t need to spend a ton of money on a tub. This one is $13and works like a charm. I do recommend getting a tub though instead of sink baths. Finn has really grown to love bath time and it’s a fun part of our evening routine to let him kick and play in the tub.

I use this shampoo/body wash, this conditioner and this baby oil. I also highly recommend getting a grooming kit. If baby is born with a full head of hair, you’ll need a brush. And it also comes with useful things like a thermometer, nail clippers (god help you with clipping baby nails…most terrifying job ever) and more.

PJ time after evening baths is the sweetest time of day for me. My heart melts. These are by far my favorite PJs. They are soft and I love that they zip instead of button. Bonus is that they zip from the feet up to make evening diaper changes as painless as possible


2,930 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page